100 Less things

Some people make a statement with spick and span homes that they have their lives together. Some are neat freaks. Some are OCD clean. Some are extremely naturally organized.

I do not fall into that category of “some.” If I’m honest, clutter comes easy to me. I don’t necessarily enjoy clutter; it generally does not drive me crazy. I can tolerate it, but eventually, depending on my mood and the amount of clutter, it does start to get to me.

When clutter annoys me I have two choices: A) let it grow, or B) try to tackle it. Normally in order to tackle it I need a source of motivation or a specific plan of attack. Often, my attacks come in a frenzied attempt to make the home more presentable before guests arrive. In a hope to become a better homemaker I am working on being more routined in housework as well as trying to tackle the clutter at times besides right before guests’ visits. (Though I must admit I finished this most recent decluttering right before my mom visited us!)

When I first saw a “Throw Out 100 Things” post – I was a bit skeptical that I could pull something like that off myself. However, as I pondered the idea, I became excited at the idea of finding one hundred things to get rid of from our home. How blessed would our home be with 100 less items? For my own purposes I figured blogging about the task would encourage me to see the, albeit silly, goal through to completion (and associate an unpleasant task with a pleasant one).

Maybe I’m selfish, but I’m hoping I’m not the only one prone to clutter. Perhaps this post will encourage others to throw out things that they are holding onto. Additionally, my thinking is that cataloguing all the things I at one point in time thought were worth keeping in my home (or that I was just too lazy to throw out) will encourage me to be more proactive at keeping the clutter away going into the future!

Without further ado, here’s my 100 things. I’ll include notes of what I got rid of (threw out, recycled, or gave away), and lessons learned along the way:

Items 1-40

  • 1-9. Glass jars.
  • 10. Garlic press piece.
  • 11-15. Tin cans.
  • 16-17. Emptied plastic containers.
  • 18-19. Random container-less lids.
  • 20. Box.
  • 21-22. Candy canes (we don’t even like/eat them!).
  • 23. Fish water treatment (fish-less for a while now).
  • 24. Mushy CNY mandarin orange (let’s be honest, no-one was going to eat it!).
  • 25. Filled up dehumidifier.
  • 26. Not sure what this was.
  • 27. Broken bubble bottle.
  • 28-29. Repetitive wooden utensils.
  • 30. Old belt (I had threatened my husband not to wear it anymore anyways!).
  • 31. Cardboard tube.
  • 32. Foil lined plate.
  • 33. Baby snack containers (have other ones).
  • 34. Bag carrier (the stroller works better).
  • 35. Non-working USB/SD card reader.
  • 36. Worn out elastic.
  • 37. Broken bike license plate.
  • 38. Random item.
  • 39. Ice cube tray (that we could never get the cubes out of without breaking them into many pieces).
  • 40. Deflated balloon and free key chain.

Lessons:

  • As nice as jars and containers are for storage and repurposing, if it doesn’t have a specific and immediate use, it will just sit around and create chaos. As the FLYlady says, “You can’t organize clutter!”
  • If I get frustrated with using and give up on using said item (see item 39) it’s not worth keeping.
  • Broken things are just that: broken!
  • Non-working things can’t be fixed are worthy of one purpose: throwing out.

Items 41-80.

  • 41. Extra blender (broke a few blender containers, so I had extra blender bases).
  • 41b. The rest of the garlic press – see item 10.
  • 42-44. Random lids.
  • 45. Free clutch from the grocery store.
  • 46-49. Non-working pens.
  • 50. Free HongBao envelopes.
  • 51. Shampoo that irritated our skin.
  • 52. A baby mobile that Gideon is too big for.
  • 53. Old sea weed.
  • 54-55. Old candy.
  • 56. Random item.
  • 57. Glow in the dark thingie (was cool, but now I probably won’t use it till Gideon is a lot older).
  • 58. Peely earphones cover.
  • 59. Container from bath salt.
  • 60. Chopsticks that we haven’t used in forever (besides non-disposable chopsticks are nicer and take up less space).
  • 61. Free bear resifted from someone else.
  • 62. Broken rattle.
  • 63. Broken usb cord to laptop fan.
  • 64-65. Old bag with ineffective elastic tangled with something else.
  • 66. Brush (that is uncomfortable to use anyways).
  • 67. Drain (that doesn’t fit our sink).
  • 68. Old “medal.”
  • 69. Car (that makes me nervous with its not-friendly-for-under-3yr-old-parts).
  • 70. Rag.
  • 71. Extra letter puzzle pieces (we have enough in his play corner without these).
  • 72. Emptied cleaning solution container.
  • 73.Old toy.
  • 74-75. Extra gift bags.
  • 76. Plastic bags (we have way too many in this house already).
  • 77. Random plastic piece.
  • 78. Extra speakers.
  • 79. Old furniture mover.
  • 80. Rags.

Lessons:

  • Rags are useful, but not if you have too many of them that they’re in too many locations.
  • Free items aren’t necessarily worth keeping.

Items 81-100

  • 81. Old tire (with a puncture).
  • 82. Random plastic.
  • 83. Furniture mover.
  • 84. Old stuffed toy.
  • 85-86. Pipe cleaners.
  • 87-88. Plastic spoon and containers that had been doubling as toys.
  • 89. Free key chain.
  • 90. Left over fabric from a clothes alteration.
  • 91.Toilet cleaner that really didn’t do its job.
  • 92-93. Plastic containers/lids.
  • 94-96. Boxes and plastics left over from a friend’s move.
  • 97-98. Cardboard tubes.
  • 99. Straw (doubled as a toy).
  • 100. Sponge.

Lessons

  • Toy chests should be purged every so often. The 15 month old won’t notice that old things aren’t there and in fact he’ll play with more because he can more easily find the toys he enjoys playing with. AND “repurposed” containers/such should be thrown out every so often.
  • The last stretch to 100 got a bit tiring and I was coming up with things that were a little lame. But I’m glad I completed my goal.
  • It would be worth doing this challenge again and often. Hey, if I do it often enough that it becomes difficult that means there’s less clutter int he home, yeah?

I say these are “lessons learned” … but I’m sure I will have to remind myself of them in the future.

How about you? What ways  do you keep the clutter at bay? Do you think you could throw out 100 things?

4 responses to “100 Less things

  1. What you’ve done is an inspiration to me (who loves collecting tits bits) and also a good reminder to be contended with what we need and not what we want! I should try one of these days…. but I wonder whether I’d be able to find 100 things to throw away in my ‘one room college dorm’ 🙂

  2. Wow…this is great! Love your blog, Adrielle! I think I’m going to have to try this myself…. 🙂

  3. Age, I’m blessed to see the work in your heart more than the work of de-cluttering. I love you, dear sis.

Leave a Reply

