E is for Economic date

I know, I know – we went out of order. Who cares? After our Fancy F date, we were ready for a more economic option.

For a while now I have wanted to see E.T.

“<GASP> She’s never seen E.T.”

Nope, I haven’t.

We decided that it would be a good thing to watch at home for an E date. Unfortunately we didn’t realize it wouldn’t be straightforward to find the DVD. We checked with a friend and looked at a DVD shop. Nada.

Finally, one day last week Andrew dropped by a DVD store on his lunch break. And what do you know but they had the coveted classic half off!?

There's nothing like a good deal to make a good date even better

There’s nothing like a good deal to make a good date even better

Andrew suggested that we have Edamame as part of our date. I thought that was a good idea since we hadn’t ever made it ourselves at home.

Even Gideon enjoyed them; we couldn't pop them out of their pods out quick enough!

Even Gideon enjoyed them; we couldn’t pop them out of their pods out quick enough!

My contribution was the idea of Eggs Benedict. I like the dish, but had never tried doing it myself. Perhaps I bit off more than I could chew (figuratively) – but it turned out quite well.

Despite the effort, worth doing again.

Despite the effort, worth doing again.

After we had our fill of the scrumptious dinner the little man went to bed and the parents sat down to watch the movie.

Notes from the E.T. novice (me) :

  • I get that they were portraying a broken family, but the kids have to mouth off that much?
  • Consequently, I can understand why it wasn’t a movie we watched as kids – my mom wouldn’t want us emulating those kids!
  • It was worth watching (as an adult), and had it’s cute/funny moments.
  • Most of all, it felt a little gratifying to finally see the famous reference to “E.T. phone home!”

Thoughts from the experienced of the two of us (Andrew) :

  • He thought that they had added features to the corn field scene and that the last escape past the police cars seemed odd. Sure enough, we looked it up, the revised version had edits to both of those. I was surprised he could even pick out anything like that since it had been several years since he had watched the movie.

In the end it was a fun, economical way to spend some time together and to do something different. Yay for E!

One response to “E is for Economic date

  1. Extraordinary entertainment escapade! (btw: yes, Age, you got the correct reason why I did not think ET to be “kid friendly.” Glad you enjoyed it as an adult! I first saw it at Eastport Cinema, I think, with Dad about 2 years or so before you were born (as I recall.)

Leave a Reply

