Peek-a-boo Curtain

When we moved to our current apartment our plan had been to give Gideon the “guest room.” As we sorted through furniture and rooms we realized that what had been a study room would work well as a small nursery for the little guy. The downside was that the room had a window that opened up into the dining room area. That would not be conducive to a darker room for Gideon falling asleep. Our temporary fix was to jerry-rig a curtain by tacking a blanket in the cracks of the window. Eventually we upgraded to a blanket on a tension rod.

The pseudo-curtain

The pseudo-curtain

Finally, the majority of boxes were unpacked, and I could start to work on sewing. I went to the local fabric shop and asked about blackout fabric. I was pleased to discover that they did carry it. My pleasure was quickly diminished when I asked how much it was. The gentleman informed me that it was $28/meter! I wanted new curtains in Gideon’s room, but my little guy wasn’t going to care enough about the curtains in his room for me to spend that much money!

Instead I went to IKEA and picked out a fun but simple black and white pattern for his curtains. I bought some cheaper black fabric for the back.

Curtains BandW

Despite the curtains being a simple project, it took quite a few “nap times” for me to take the time to measure, cut, pin, and sew the fabric.

Cutting + pinning > tedious than "sewing"

Cutting + pinning > tedious than “sewing”

Eventually, all the aforementioned tasks were complete and I was ready to hang up the curtain.

Victory!

Hurray - No more blankets!

Hurray – No more blankets!

It took Gideon a few weeks to express his pleasure in the curtains, but he finally found a way to let me know how much he likes them.

He does it by playing peek-a-boo standing at the end of his crib and lifting the curtain to say high to whomever is in the dining room. The first time he did it, I heard my sister start laughing in the dining room calling me over. The histerical laughter that he received every time his smile peeked out from the other side probably reinforced the behavior. But we couldn’t help ourselves – it was quite comical!

The first time he discovered he could peek out

The first time he discovered he could peek out

I scooted his crib as far as it could go away from the window (about 10 inches) and that seemed to hold his cute but naughty behavior at bay for a little while.

This morning though Andrew and I were getting some things done as we were waiting for Gideon to finish his nap. We were waiting to hear something before getting him up so we could head to the pool.

Well, little did we realize that the little rascal was already up. Andrew looked up from his computer to discover that his son was spying on him from his room. The cheeky little man would put the curtain back, then lift it back up and grin at his parents.

Tongue out and all...

Tongue out and all…

I’m probably naive in expressing this desire, but I hope he only does this behavior only when he’s ready to get up from nap. Or else this mommy is going to have to get creative as to how to keep him from curiously peeking out from under the curtain!

One response to “Peek-a-boo Curtain

  1. hilarious!

Leave a Reply

