Telunas, Indonesia – Taking the Plunge

They say a picture is worth a thousand words. But I suppose some fun pictures with a few captions makes for a great story.

The morning of our last day in Indonesia dawned clear and calm.

"He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul. " Psalm 23:3

“He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul. ” Psalm 23:3

But our nerves weren’t quite as calm as our surroundings.

You see, Telunas has this dock of sorts that the call the high jump.

The High Jump

The High Jump

With the height of the tide taken into account, the platform was approximately 5 meters (that’s 18 feet in American) above the water.

It was the last “activity” on our list of things to do before we left. I mean, where else do you get to jump 18 feet into the calm open water? Tam stayed with the napping boy so that Andrew and I could take the plunge.

Andrew was the first to go up.

The long climb before the high jump

The long climb before the high jump

After he did the jump, I did it. Finally, Andrew switched out with Tam for Gideon duty so that she was able to come give it a go. (I should give Tam credit, she did the jump 3 times! Andrew and I only did it once each.)

I think it best that I give you a play by play comparison of our jumps.

The Preparation

The Preparation

  • Andrew: “Why am I doing this?”
  • Adrielle: nervous excitement
  • Tam: peaceful resignation
The Launch

The Launch

  • Andrew: oh boy
  • Adrielle: yippeee
  • Tam: Ms. Proper, “Mustn’t get water in my nose!”
The Descent

The Descent

  • Andrew: brace for impact! “Am I there yet?”
  • Adrielle: “Ooo, this is actually pretty fun.”
  • Tam: still holding that nose!
Prepare for Entry

Prepare for Entry

  • Andrew: “This is gonna hurt”
  • Adrielle: gracefully turns towards the camera
  • Tam: points her toes, and yes, still holding onto her nose
The Splash

The Splash

  • Andrew: As you’d expect
  • Adrielle:  the splash matched the graceful descent
  • Tam: happily average 🙂

Here are some of our favorite shots:

Andrew's huge splash (almost as high as the jump itself!)

Andrew’s huge splash (almost as high as the jump itself!)

Andrew’s advice to those considering the high jump is to try to minimize your surface area impact. This is not so much to minimize your splash as it is to minimize the later pain in your rump from the landing.

Unintentionally picture perfect

Unintentionally picture perfect

Andrew pointed out that the water was so calm that you could even see my reflection right before I entered!

 

"The Getting Closer" Approach

“The Getting Closer” Approach

I’m not sure that her approach actually accomplished anything compared to Andrew and my more care-free approaches, but she had fun nonetheless.

It was a great way to make memories on our last morning right before we finished packing to leave. Wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂

All four of us

Thank you Telunas for a wonderful memory-filled vacation!

One response to “Telunas, Indonesia – Taking the Plunge

  1. How come Gideon didn’t get to jump?! Would have made some cool pictures! 🙂

Leave a Reply

