Down by the Bay

When we were little, Tam and I used to sing a song a silly song entitled “Down By The Bay”

“Down by the bay,

where the watermelons grow,

back to my home,

I dare not go.

For if I do,

my mother will say… <insert verse>

… Down by the bay.”

I was reminded of that song since we were downtown this weekend several times. And many of the times we were “Down by the Bay.” On Thursday we went to the Flyer which is next to the Marina Bay. In preparation for their bike race on Sunday, on Saturday Andrew and Tamarah had to drop off their bikes and pick up their registration packets right near the Flyer. Since they were already downtown, Gideon and I met up with them at Gardens By the Bay. On Sunday they had their race and we were all once again downtown by the bay.

But let me not get ahead of myself. The purpose of this post is to share pictures of our visit to Gardens by the Bay. (Bike race pictures to come later 🙂 )

You can see how the Flyer and the Gardens are fairly close together

You can see how the Flyer and the Gardens are fairly close together

It was nice to visit the Gardens without an agenda but to enjoy the sights and the family.

The Sky and the Skywalk

The Sky and the Skywalk

I’m glad we weren’t set on anything in particular because due to rain/thunder they closed the skywalk a little while after we arrived. That’s okay, you don’t need fancy skywalks to have fun. Tamarah was even able to one of her favorite pasttimes: horseback riding!

Riding a very calm horse

Riding a very calm horse

I’m not much for riding horses, but I do have my own silly streak:

Getting friendly with plants and making faces

Getting friendly with plants and making faces

Gideon was asleep when Aunt Tammy was riding horses, but he still wanted to have a ride, so Daddy let him ride on him!

Riding on Daddy and playing in the air

Riding on Daddy and playing in the air

And of course we couldn’t let a beautiful day and matching t-shirts go to waste without taking some family shots!

Matching shirts and matching smiles

Matching shirts and matching smiles

Gideon even offered to take a shot of us while we stood in front of the Marina Bay Sands.

Gideon (or the tripod on the stroller) takes pretty good shots!

Gideon (or the tripod on the stroller) takes pretty good shots!

I think we each took turns taking shots.

You can't see the SG on our shirts so our shirts read "I heart heat" - true indeed

You can’t see the SG on our shirts so our shirts read “I heart heat” – true indeed

But don’t worry, we asked a stranger to take a shot so we could get all of us in the picture.

Enjoying time together

Enjoying time together, but Gideon wishing he had a I ❤ SG shirt.

I think Gideon was disappointed that he didn't have a matching shirt!

It was hard for Gideon to look at Tammy with all the rest of the people walking around

It was a great day to spend down by the bay.

Day by the bay...

Day by the bay…

One response to “Down by the Bay

  1. Love the matching shirts

Leave a Reply

