The morning reSOUNDS with thankfulness

The other morning while I was hanging out clothes to dry I was listening to the world around me and thinking of the many reasons I have to be thankful.

Hanging out some clothes to dry since it's nice and clear/breezy out this morning!

Hanging out some clothes to dry since it’s nice and clear/breezy out this morning!

After I got some laundry done and while Gideon was still asleep, I wrote the following post. (I forgot to post it till today, so some of my verb tenses may be off!)

Here are the sounds from this morning (in no particular order) and why I’m thankful.

Sound 1: Weed-whacker

Here, they say weed eater. For as much grenery as Singapore has, we rarely see mowers. Probably 99% of the time grass is cut by a man carrying a weed-whacker. We’ve even seen entire fields being trimmed in this tedious manner. My assumption is that mowers are more expensive and not as transportable, so they stick to the lighter and cheaper version.

I am thankful for how green this city is. It’s one of the things I love about this city and makes it feel like home! And even though there is always profuse greenery, it is maintained splendidly.

Sound 2: Power washer

We live in a HDB (“public housing” in Singapore). But yet, the authorities place a high priority of cleanliness. The blocks (and each floor of the 12 to 14 story buildings in our community) are regularly power washed to keep them clean. I am thankful for the cleanliness.

Sound 3: Sweeping

The swish swish of a neighbor cleaning the walkway in front of their home reminds me of how I live in a community of literally thousands, but still feel like my home is very private. I know that sounds odd, but I am really thankful for that juxtaposition.

Sound 4: Traffic

Normally I don’t really notice the sounds of nearby traffic. This is largely due to the fact that our building is in the middle of the community and we are at least a block from a road in either direction. However, depending on how many other noises are present and where you are in the house you can hear the noise of passing traffic. I am thankful that traffic is well maintained here in Singapore, and again even though we live in a city it doesn’t feel too city-ish!

Sound 5: Half-hearted cries

As I’m hanging out the laundry, I’m hearing Gideon do a wail once in a while. He is obviously tired, but still has enough energy to muster up a disgruntled cry every once in a while. I am thankful for how well he generally sleeps and for the fact that I have a son in my house, even if he is crying!

It took a little bit of effort, but the result was worth it (for both of us)!

It took a little bit of effort, but the result was worth it (for both of us)!

(He has since fallen asleep since I got around to sitting down and writing this post.)

Sound 6: Jars of Clay

We normally play Jars of Clay, Owl City, or Piano Guys in Gideon’s room while he is falling asleep. I am thankful for the sounds of music and how my little guy already has good taste in music 😉

Sound 7: Clicks

I walk into our bedroom to put a few things away. I hear our ceiling fan softly clicking away. I am oh so thankful for that ceiling fan that keeps the air moving in the room that would otherwise remain fairly stuffy. It provides relief from the hot humid air that is iconic to Singapore. I’m also thankful that because of the rainy season, it is still a bit cooler than it will be in a few months (even though it’s still in the 80s)!

Sound 8: Washing machine

While I’m hanging out clothes on our line, I have the next load in the washer. It’s a load of cloth diapers. I am so thankful for how cloth diapering has gone. It has become a habit more easily than I thought. And from what I can tell it keeps Gideon’s bottom nice and free of diaper rashes. I am so thankful for Andrew’s support of my desire to use cloth diapers. And I am thankful that we have been able to keep up with the necessary washings of said diapers.

Gideon's rainbow drawer (just a few of our selection of cloth diapering cuteness!)

Gideon’s rainbow drawer (just a few of our selection of cloth diapering cuteness!)

Besides, the diapers are so stink’n cute!

2 responses to “The morning reSOUNDS with thankfulness

  1. thankful that you are thankful!

  2. Love this post. 🙂 And we love our dipes too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

