CDs = bird deterrent?

I have a pet peeve that has nothing to do with “pets” but rather a “pest.” ( I wonder: does this make it a pest peeve?)

For whatever reason birds like to come into my home. They don’t come in like regular guest through our front door. Nor do they like to come in my living room. No, their preferred place of visiting is in my kitchen.

I do not like their visits. Their visits are intrusive, sometimes sneaky, and just downright rude!

Caught in the act of snooping!

I thought I had pictures of them sitting on my clothes pole and in my home, but I can’t find the pictures. Maybe they took the time while they were in my house to erase the incriminating photos off my camera.

 

They always come right into my kitchen and snoop around seeking out crumbs. If they can’t find any crumbs or food to nibble on they leave me the gift of poo. Actually, they leave their poop regardless of whether or not they found crumbs.

I don’t know why they come in. But I am banking on the fact that its because they like food. Now, I don’t always keep my kitchen spic-and-span… in fact, more often then I like to admit, there are dishes or other items sitting around in the kitchen waiting to be taken care of. However, I have evidence to support the fact that its not just my keeping of the kitchen that seems to make these birds self-entitled to intrude upon my space.

(Note, as I’m writing this, Andrew starts talking out loud and says, “Bird: SCRAM!” He doesn’t take too kindly to their intrusion either.)

 

My evidence for their love of my kitchen sans food impetus is thus: right after I have done a deep clean of the kitchen and mopped the floors the birds still come in. I wouldn’t mind so much if they were friendly, but their pooping on my very clean floor is NOT friendly.

All this unwelcome bird activity has caused Andrew and I to start searching for an effective method of discouraging the birds from entering. Andrew proposed that we take old CD’s and hang them from our window.

It’s hard to tell if they actually deter the birds. It seems like they come in ever so slightly less. But then again, we’ve noticed them entering right next to the CDs. However, it also seems that they prefer the other window slightly more when there are CD’s around. Hmm…

There is one discovery though: CDs hanging in window + wind = Adrielle deterrent. The sound of CD’s flapping against the metal on the windows does not exactly sound like a pleasant wind chime. On the plus side, CD’s don’t poop.

If you close the window with CD's... CD's stop being annoying, birds don't

I spent a lot of time on the computer the other day searching for people who have found effective ways of discouraging these Javan Myna from entering my kitchen sanctuary. No luck.

Here are some of the ideas we have had, some with varying level of plausibility vs. drawbacks:

1. Close Windows

Plausibility: If the windows are closed all the way, they can’t come in.

Drawbacks: If the windows are closed all the way, the birds aren’t the only thing inhibited; the wind/air flow is also stopped. Also, if there is an open crack in the window, the birds will find a way in.

2. Scarry Owl Technique

Potential: I suggested we put up a large owl. They scare off other birds in the US right?

Drawbacks: Two problems with that idea. 1) as Andrew pointed out, Singapore isn’t known for its owls. So, would these trespassers even be phased by a non-existent-to-them bird? 2) a friend shared this frustration, there is no obvious place in Singapore where such menacing bird statues are to be found. So, I don’t think we’ll try that idea.

3. Water Gun

Potential: While at the bookstore the other day we saw a water gun. Andrew suggested we pick one up… for bird control. We also could put up a warning signs for the birds that says, “Warning, kitchen invaders will be shot.” The idea had some merit, but it also had:

Drawbacks: $15 for one water gun. Really? I mean, we don’t even know if it will be an effective measure. Also, sure water beats poop, but who wants water all over their kitchen every time a bird decides he’d like to come in? Not me.

4. Alternate “gun”

Potential: Andrew also had an idea that combines his field of expertise and a slight geek factor is to build an ultrasonic gun. The upside: wickedly outside the box. No water would be used, no windows would be closed, and it might be fun. (Please don’t call me morbid for thinking shooting invader birds with invisible and inaudible sound waves is a great idea.) And who knows – maybe it’d work.

Drawbacks: I don’t know how feasible this idea is. Maybe it wouldn’t work. … but I sure would like to stick around to find out.

5. Suggestions?

The verdict is still out on whether or not the CD’s are effective. It’s been a few days so far. It hasn’t stopped them, but it is possible that it has partially decreased their likelihood of entering. But we’re still desperate for more ideas. We’d really like to hear if anybody has ideas that are worth trying. Help!

4 responses to “CDs = bird deterrent?

  1. Hm, that’s quite a dilemma. Mom uses foil pie plates in the garden to scare the birds away – much like your CDs. The sun shining off them while they blow around is supposed to scare the birds. But, also like the CDs, might be kind of loud and annoying! I’ve also seen metallic ribbon (like you might use to wrap packages) hanging in and around gardens, presumably for the same reason.

  2. Isn’t there any hardware-type store that you could find screen to put up over the inside of the windows? It would allow air flow in, and keep out the birds!

  3. Please be kind enough to email me if you ever find an effective solution. they are scaring my baby and leaving poops everywhere! I’m desperately needed help here.

Leave a Reply

