Turkey Day #6 … and still thankful

Turkey = Lesson in thankfulness

I think turkey is a meal that I’ve taken for granted. Until this year. It might be tempting for me to think of all the the things I miss this year, not being able to spend Thanksgiving with my extended family. Instead, this year the turkey has caused me to think of ways I’m thankful:

  • It reminds me/us of home and growing up. Good memories!
  • We can actually get turkey during Thanksgiving time. Granted our turkey choices are still limited, but at least we have some. (Normally turkey is simply NOT an option here.)
  • It was in our budget. Okay, it wasn’t $0.59/lb. like in the states. Our 9.5lb turkey did cost us approximately 27USD! But it was worth it. And that fed 5 people plus many left-overs.
  • It fit in our oven.

Note – this is a big deal. We were very concerned that we wouldn’t be able to find a turkey to fit our oven. (Especially seeing as we only have one cooking sheet that fits “flat” in our oven. But at least we had one… can you imagine cooking a turkey on a slant!?) But lo and behold:

It fits! Hooray!

  •  We had friends to share the turkey with on Thanksgiving Day!

Up until Wednesday night, our Thanksgiving plans amounted to getting together with friends on Saturday to have the whole turkey-stuffing-cranberry sauce-etc affair with. But we had yet to decide what we were actually going to do the day of. Wednesday night, on our way to the grocery store, we finalized plans with other friends to get together the next day (Thursday – the real Thanksgiving) for dinner. So with less than 24 hours to spare we bought a turkey and got it thawing.

  • Turkey is very versatile. I put the carcass into a crockpot with water and let it cook overnight. The next day I had some great turkey broth/stock.
  • Turkey makes great left-overs. Turkey – day #2 = open face turkey sandwiches made on potato bread (which Andrew made from left-over, Thanksgiving, mashed potatoes and saved potato water… notice we like to use things for all their worth?) and served with “fresh” gravy made from turkey stock (see above).
  • I am also really thankful we got to spend Saturday with a large true-to-tradition Thanksgiving spread with another couple & friends. They cooked the turkey this time, but it still counts as turkey. That would make day # 3 of turkey.
  • Sunday evening we had noodles, gravy, and left-over turkey. (Day #4.)
  • Monday (yesterday) I had lunch. Guess what it was. Turkey. Left-over rice + left-over turkey + left-over grave = yummy lunch that felt original. (If you’re counting, this would make day 5.)
  • Did I mention I am thankful for turkey’s versatility and good-left-overs-ability?
  • Today… Turkey still needed to be used, but what’s the use of having it the same way? We had Turkey pot pie.

I used left-over pie dough (I had extra from the apple pies I made), left-over peas, left-over gravy, and (you guessed it) left-over turkey with some other ingredients to make a pot pie. Can you say yum!?

Turkey Pot Pie

I decided I didn’t want the extra calories (or effort) that comes with making more pie crust. And since I didn’t have enough to do a top & a bottom, I improvised. The top of the pie was done more like a shepheard’s pie: mashed potatoes and then cheddar cheese. (Though I’m not sure that the mashed potatoes actually helped with my idea of cutting calories!) The filling was chopped up left-over turkey, corn, peas, carrots, and gravy.

What do you get when you have two hungry adults who needed dinner?

Half of the Turkey Pot Pie

This brings me to my next point that I’m thankful for:

  • I am thankful for a husband that enjoys my cooking and appreciates my inventiveness when it comes to using left-overs multiple times in ways that don’t become too boring.

Thank you Lord for Turkey and for giving me so many reasons to be thankful! 🙂

One response to “Turkey Day #6 … and still thankful

  1. And I am thankful for a dear sweet daughter and her wonderful husband!
    P.S. Thanks for the shepherd’s pie idea… I have lots of leftover mashed potatoes! Today I get to make turkey soup… one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

