On a Roll

Each cook seems to have his/her go-to resource for finding new recipes. Probably my own favorite go-to would have to be allrecipes.com . I love using the ingredient search feature. And it is also very useful to be able to sort ratings based on their level of helpfulness.

Some of our favorite recipes have come from this website:

While pulling up the website the other day, a recipe on the home page caught my eye: Crescent Bacon-Cheddar Pinwheels

It sounded delicious. I realized that I had crescent roll dough in the freezer, and the other ingredients were easy enough (note: easy enough in Singapore is very different than easy in the USA) to come by. I decided to give it a try.

  • 1 (8 ounce) can Pillsbury® refrigerated crescent dinner rolls or Pillsbury® Crescent Recipe Creations® refrigerated seamless dough sheet

Substitute real crescent dough. I had made a batch of crescent roll dough for Taco Pie and some mini croissants for finger sandwiches (for a get together at work). I still had about 1/3 of the dough left waiting in the freezer for such an opportunity to use the rest of the dough! I pulled out my crescent roll dough out of the freezer and set about making the rolls.

  • 2 tablespoons ranch dressing

We haven’t been able to find suitable ranch dressing even though we’ve looked in several stores recently. To substitute I used some of the ranch dressing powder I have on hand, and I mixed it with mayo and milk. I assumed due to my substitution of mayonnaise, it turned out a little tangier than normal ranch which was perfect for this recipe!

  • 1/4 cup cooked real bacon pieces

I used “back bacon” from the store. (I don’t know exactly what the difference is other than it’s much cheaper than regular bacon at the store).  I’m assuming it was normal bacon just a slightly different cut? It tasted like bacon.

  • 1/2 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onions

So, anyways I got my ingredients together. I rolled out my now-thawed dough. I spread my “ranch dressing” onto it and sprinkled the rest of the list onto the spread. I followed some of the most helpful reviews and froze the roll before cutting it into the slices. I baked it until the edges were golden and the cheese was cooked.

What turned out was a fantastic “keeper” of a recipe!

The Result: Yummy Addictive Goodness

I didn’t know if I would like green onions, so I made a portion of the recipe without the onions. I liked it both ways. (For those of you who don’t know me, I don’t particularly enjoy onions, so for me to like something with onions is a big deal.)

The only downside was that these were very addicting. And, seeing as I didn’t have company over, just Andrew and I were home to eat them. Oh, were they good!

Another success thanks to allrecipes.com ! (And another recipe added to my virtual recipe box on the site 🙂 )

One response to “On a Roll

Leave a Reply

