SG Bathroom Saga – continued

I realize that it’s been a while since I’ve written about Singapore’s bathroom symbols. It’s not that the symbols for bathrooms have become any more standard or less ambiguous… it’s more that I have grown accustomed to it.

Today, though, as I was visiting the ladies’ room at a nearby mall it struck me that these symbols would make for a good post. (Forgive me if you think blogging about bathroom symbols is morbid or too weird…) The following symbol was on the door of a bathroom stall – in the ladies’ room.

image

Can you guess what this means?

If you can’t figure out what that means, don’t feel bad. I cheat and look inside the door. Maybe this next symbol will help. It was on the adjacent stall’s door.

image

Does this help? Do you know what this symbol is?

Alright, here’s what they are (I’ll start with the easier symbol):

Symbol 2 translated, “A normal toilet is in this stall”

Although the toilet may be normal – I don’t know that the depiction shows a normal situation. I mean seriously!? Who does a weird pokey geometric shape to represent a human? And since when are the backs of a toilet 170 degrees away from the lid?

Symbol 1 translated, “Squatty Potty”

Yup. That’s right. Squatty potty. For those of you who have been to most any Asian country, you know what I’m talking about. It’s the kind of potty where it is a glorified hole in the ground. And when I say glorified, I mean to say that it is a porcelain hole and the floor is 4 inches higher than the rest of the bathroom. Woop-dee-doo. Personally I don’t see why they even include these potties in the ladies restroom anymore. Does it really see that much use?

I have even had circumstances where a line for the women’s bathroom in a mall went out the door. Several people were in line, and yet there were one or two stalls that weren’t being used – regardless of the wait. Wonder why? Oh, yeah, it’s because it would be more convenient to wait in line then attempt the awkward female squatting position!

Oh well – at least they have “normal” toilets too 🙂 Until I think of another uniquely Singaporean bathroom experience/symbol…

5 responses to “SG Bathroom Saga – continued

  1. Lol! I knew what they meant, although I haven’t run across those symbols yet! Last week we went to a mall where only two stalls were western toilets and 6 others were squatties!

  2. This post reminds me of coming back to the US from living in Japan, and Josiah remarking (after checking out all the stalls in the Chicago airport bathroom), “Mom, they are ALL western toilets!” It was a nice change. (Although, in Japan, the squatty potties often got more use than the Western ones, which was always nice for us – no line. 🙂

  3. Um, here there’s rest-stops with only trees … In which cases a stall and running water might be considered a luxury.

  4. it all seems good to me; in my profession there are bedside commodes, fracture pans and bedpans, none of these have symbols as far as I know

  5. Pingback: Adventure, Anger, and Relief | Randles like Candles

Leave a Reply

